OneWay's Thread

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

OneWay

OneWay's Thread

Post by OneWay » Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:42 pm

Hello LOL,

I have been a hobbyist for as long as i can remember. I recieved my first fish tank from my grandfather when i was in 3rd grade. He started me off with a 20 gallon tank, but even before that I was keeping things in buckets, shoeboxes, and even drawers of my dresser.

My mom would tell me of the suprizes she would find in my sock drawer,, toads, frogs, snakes, salamanders, you name it and I wanted it as a pet.
It is little wonder I ended up with a BS in all things,,, Biology :)

I have loved keeping turtles, but currently I do not house any. I have a pair of bearded dragons (no babies yet), a double headed amazon, a jack russel, and lots of loaches.

I have kept/bred various fish over the years, but ended up with African Cichlids for years. Sadly I was both bored with them and had several ,, i know i know,, clown loaches. I kept clowns with them for several reasons, 1. they are just one fish cichlids ignore, 2. they grow large, and 3. they have great personalities and are fun to watch.

I do have one observation to make about cichlids and clowns. My clowns were never reclusive nor skittish until i removed the cichlids... I think the boldness of the cichlids made the loaches braver, and once those "brave" fish were removed the loaches went into hiding :) With cichlids, my loaches would go to the surface and feast on food; now just the little guys go to the top. To help them feel more at home, I added gaint danios, lowered the amount of light, feed mostly sinking food, and added treat skewers.

And like so many others, I find this site AFTER I decided to change the tank over to loaches. Well the site is just amazing and I am saddened i didn't find it sooner, but i am glad i have!