Help identifying leucistic loach that showed up with kuhlis?

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

joclru

Help identifying leucistic loach that showed up with kuhlis?

Post by joclru » Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:40 pm

I mail-ordered some kuhli loaches—pangio kuhlii/semicincta—to add company to the 4 my LFS had (I bought all of them, but felt they should have a larger group). When I received the package of additional kuhlis in the mail, there was one obvious oddball. At first, my thought was this was an albino/leucistic kuhli and there was nothing to worry about. However, as you'll see in the images, it has no stripes whereas every albino kuhli I've seen retains some striping.

My best guess is that it is a leucistic chocolate kuhli—pangio oblonga—but I've never seen one of these for comparison. I'm also no expert, just a copious researcher! I've had some warn me that it could be a very young golden dojo loach, but I have to think that this is unlikely. With that said, again, I could be missing the signs here and I would have to find it a new home if it is a dojo loach. That's why I'm asking for help.

Please see two images below of the loach in question from while he was acclimating. In the bag, he was the most active. In the tank, i do not see him with the 8 other kuhlis very often, who spend a lot of time out and about and being funny. I've only seen this light colored fellow a few times over the past several days (only had him that long), always after I put food out though it hasn't appeared every time they have been fed.

At this point, it's probably no more than 2" long and is noticeably thinner and shorter than the kuhlis I bought at my LFS. With that said, its proportions are basically equivalent with the other kuhlis that it shipped with, which all appear younger than the kuhlis I bought at my LFS.