Disappearing Fins on my clown loach

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

KBick

Disappearing Fins on my clown loach

Post by KBick » Mon Jan 02, 2006 9:29 pm

Hello, I have three clown loaches that have recently been loosing shape to their fins. I know that they are super sensitive to medicines and am not a fish doctor, though I try my best, so I don't want to assume anything yet. This is my first time here and I was wondering if anyone had helpful and insightful info. on this issue. Each one has the same problem, some more severe than others. Basically, the top fin is flat rather than pointy, the smaller side fins look as if they are smaller than they should be (on one they look as if they are almost completely gone) and the points on the back fin are almost rounded looking. Does anyone know what could be causing this or what it might be before I get meds (I was thinking fin rot)? Much thanks.

shari

Hey KBick

Post by shari » Mon Jan 02, 2006 9:52 pm

welcome to the forum, and yes, it does sound like fin rot. What is your water quality like?

Do you do regular water changes? What are your water parameters, like pH, hardness, nitrItes, or nitrAtes, any ammonia present?

How long has the tank been set up and what other inhabitants, are there?

Fin rot can be bacterial or simply caused by bad water quality. We need more info, please :)

barbara

another less delightful thought

Post by barbara » Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:04 am

is flexibacter. that can cause fins to quickly "melt". are there any other symptoms? greyishness anywhere on the bodies, mouth erosion are two things that i've seen that MIGHT accompany the fin degradation.