Algae question

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Loaches-R-US

Algae question

Post by Loaches-R-US » Mon May 07, 2007 7:18 pm

Hello,

I have been a frequent visitor to this site. I have been keeping loaches for about 10 years now. I just recently setup a new tank about 1 month ago and it seems to have a green hair algae problem. I have never run into this problem type of issue before other than your basic algae growth. The tank is very healthy and my loaches are doing great. I also have a large selection of live plants, which where bought after the algae problem first occured. My water chemistry checks out to be very good, Ammonia 0 ppm, Nitrite 0 ppm and Nitrates barely viable about 5 ppm maybe a little less. Any ideas or suggestions are welcome, other than the green algae being ugly as it tries to take over my decor, the tank is doing wonderful.

Thank you for yout time in advance,

Chris

Total Package

Post by Total Package » Mon May 07, 2007 8:12 pm

It's a common problem in new tanks. I'd expect it to sort itself out over time.

Have you put any live plants into the tank? If so, how heavily is it planted?

More plants should help to out-compete the algae.

chefkeith

Post by chefkeith » Mon May 07, 2007 8:17 pm