Loaches living together

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

MudFrog

Loaches living together

Post by MudFrog » Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:39 pm

I have a 90 gallon, 40% planted, I would like to house three yoyo loaches, 6 kuhli loaches and two weater loaches together? Does anyone see a compatiblity problem? Oh, there is three dwarf bristelnose pleco's in there already.

The loaches already live in tanks around the house.

And would I be able to add fish? Can anyone suggest something that schools. My water is med hard. It's really very hard but I cut it using RO. Ph is usually 7.0 or so.

BTW cool site!

Thanks,

Lisa

newshound

Post by newshound » Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:03 pm

I am no expert on W. loaches but I seem to remember that they need cooler water.
I think that Yoyos might be a bit nippy for the kuhli loaches as well.
but I have read of people housing botia and kuhli together (i think it was clowns actually).
get a few more yoyo too :wink:
drain your pool!

Erik

Post by Erik » Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:31 pm

Weather loaches are really a cold water fish. .
I would add a few more yoyo's instead or 3 or more striatas, kubotais, darios or histrionica. In act that list will do well all togeher(ie the dream team).
Btw I have 7 adult yoyo's in my 75G they get along fine and are out a fair bit.
Snce you have hard water I highly reccomend precox rainbows, max size is about 5 cm. They are great schoolers and very pretty. They will enjoy some current like your loaches as well.
As long as you provide lots of substrate cover like plants, mulm, bogwood etc the kuhli's will be happy too.
Erik
16G bent corner planted ,pressurized Co2, turbotwist 9w, jebo 828 , 36 led

mikev

Post by mikev » Thu Mar 09, 2006 3:33 pm

I think that Yoyos might be a bit nippy for the kuhli loaches as well