Quarantine New Clown Loaches

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

kwvhii

Quarantine New Clown Loaches

Post by kwvhii » Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:45 pm

Hello, I am new to loaches.com. Was curious how long I should Quarantine Clown Loaches for. I have 3 in a 10 gal. QT, which I just emptied the previous inhabitants. My community tank is recovering from ich, and unfortunately my five little loaches didn't make it. I happened onto 3.4+ inch loaches for cheap, I know I can't put them in the main tank regardless, (I have not seen spots for a week now). I don't want to leave them in that little tank, but when is a safe time to start the move, and how exactly can I do that causing the least stress possible if the tanks are in 2 different rooms. I am scared because I don't want to lose these guys, either by cramming them in this little tank or putting them in my main tank.
Also, I have been using coppersafe for over a week for the ich and just finished the 7-day treatment of Melafix.

shari

Post by shari » Fri Mar 10, 2006 6:26 am

First, welcome to Loaches on Line. :)

Second, Melafix won't do anything to eliminate ich.

Third, what size is your community tank, what other inhabitants are in there?
What are the water parameters of both the 10 and the community? How did you acclimate your previous loaches (were they also clowns?) and how did you acclimate this bunch to the 10?