Recommendations/discussion regarding my loach

This forum is for all health-related questions on Loaches and other freshwater fish.

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

surgeon

Recommendations/discussion regarding my loach

Post by surgeon » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:39 am

I'm new to fish forums so I'll just try and give as many details as I can.... Sorry for the wall of text.

Tank-
Tall 4ft tank - 270ish litres (perhaps 250 once you take out gravel/rocks/plants). Its a ~78 gallon tank at 100% water full.
Filter -
Jebo 835 (1100Litres per hour though a lot lower than that with age of a few years) PLUS internal Fluval3plus (I dont like it, used to have a small Rena filstar that was smaller and sucked out more 'gunk')
Heater -
boring heater. hasn't turned on all summer! Plenty big enough for tank.
Stock -
1 8inch clown loach, 3 gourami (normal sized), one pretty fish I have no idea what its called and 3 tiny grey fish. Oh and a catfish you never see (but hes there! decent sized bristle nose). I'm under the 1 inch per gallon rule by a lot i think.
Plants/substrate
Just normal gravel you buy from fish stores everywhere(rounded, not sharp). Low light/weed like plants like the tank. No green algae blooms, just that nasty bearded black algae which I keep controlled with elbow grease.

Firstly ive had my Clown Loach 'Big Fish' for 8 years+, currently around 8 inches long. He was almost invincible, outliving every fish we got with our initial fish tank. Unfortunately his initial loachy friends all died off and hes too big to get new friends for, outcompeting them for food or generally outliving them when the water quality drops (or i just cant get the knack of getting those small fish shop loaches to live). I know a single clown loach is bad but he does seem quite OK after living years of the hermit lifestyle, good clolour, going nutty/clicky when food is dropped into the tank (trying to eat my fingers, gross).