Your opinions on loach care and house-sitters?

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

LK

Your opinions on loach care and house-sitters?

Post by LK » Sat Nov 17, 2007 4:35 pm

Hi, I recently posted a questions about my new loach that had one white spot on its tail. (Update: 3 days into Rid-Ich+ treatment, spot is gone, no new spots, so far so good!--fingers crossed!--thanks again to everyone for the advice.) I'm posting a new question, which arises due to the fact that I'll be away from Hawaii longer than expected this winter and will have house-sitters living in my apartment for a month to water plants and take care of the fish. A little background: I have 2 dwarf honey red gourami in a 20 gal. tall. Upon bad advice from a pet store guy, I bought 3 clown loaches a few days ago. Even though I'm a newbie fish owner, I should have known to research a fish myself before buying one :oops:. Only after I got them home did I learn how big they get. For now, everyone in the tank is young and small, including the gourami, but I'm upgrading to a 50 or 55 gallon at the end of January (I love these loaches--the upgrade is worth it). From researching online, I know that the most important thing to do between now and the upgrade is to keep the 20 gal. very very clean, for the sake of the loaches' health. Right now I'm doing daily 25% water changes because of the Rid-Ich+ treatment, but my usual routine is 25% per week. However, I was thinking of switching to a 10% water change every 3 days. This is not so much for the sake of the fish, but because I think it might be easier on the house-sitters. They'd be doing more frequent changes, but they'd only have to deal with removing and replacing 2 gallons of water at a time. Less trips back and forth to the sink, plus less chance that the fish would be stressed by sudden water fluctuations. Sorry for the lengthy background in