complete newbie here

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

mkoff32

complete newbie here

Post by mkoff32 » Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:52 am

Hey all, I need some direction. We just bought a house and are finally getting settled in. I want to put an aquarium in the basement. I'm actually an avid newt/salamander keeper but haven't kept fish since I was like 12 (and really my mom did all the work!). I fell in love with clown loaches after researching them... but also discovered that they might not be the best for a beginner and need a minimum tank size of 75 gallons. I am going to start with a 55 gallon and would like to keep some type or types of loaches. Any advice on what kind of loaches are good for a beginner to keep in a 55 gallon? And possible tank mates?

Thanks!

Dutch

Post by Dutch » Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:03 am

I'm a beginner too. In fact, I haven't even got the tank yet but I have done a lot of research for what I would like to keep and what could work as a nice combination.
I've decided I want to keep B. histrionica ( http://www.loaches.com/species-index/botia-histronica )with a small number of C. siamensis, which is the siamese algae eater (not a Loach).
My choice for histrionica is mainly because they are more active during the day. We have some at the university and they are really nice fish!

What I did was just to go through the list a bit... http://www.loaches.com/species-index/species-index
It's a good way to see what species there are and what appeals most to you. I personally like the Botia-species best.

mkoff32

Post by mkoff32 » Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:26 am

Thanks for the reply! I'm really liking the Botia kubotai myself.

Dutch

Post by Dutch » Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:40 am

Absolutely a very beautiful fish!