best tankmates for clown loaches

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

avee

best tankmates for clown loaches

Post by avee » Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:57 pm

what do you think?
I've had tiger barbs but for some reason I haven't had good luck with those. What is your favourite?

starsplitter7

Re: best tankmates for clown loaches

Post by starsplitter7 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:26 pm

avee wrote:what do you think?
I've had tiger barbs but for some reason I haven't had good luck with those. What is your favourite?
Did you have a big group of Tiger Barbs or a small group?

I am still learning about compatibility, but it may help others to know more about your tank. For example:
Size of tank?
How long has it been established?
Does it have plants, hiding places, . . . Free swimming space?
How many Clown loaches? How big are they? How long have you had them?
Pictures are great.

Marcos Mataratzis

Post by Marcos Mataratzis » Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:02 pm

Hello avee,

I always have redtailled shark with my clown loachs every tank I have for last 25 years. They interact very well. :wink:
My 450L Loaches tank
31 clown, 5 morleti, 2 sidthimunki

Finnatic

tankmates for clown loach

Post by Finnatic » Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:58 pm

Perhaps you can consider Red Line Torpedo Barbs (Puntius Denisonii) - i have a shoal of about 20 of them (2 - 5 inch) and they do very well with my CLs. They are beautiful and are interesting because they are quite active at all levels of the tank.
Finnatic
Swim with sharks and play with dolphins (and mermaids when they come around)

Diana

Post by Diana » Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:30 pm

I tend to stock a tank with fish at each level.
Clowns = bottom half, so I look for mid to upper level fish.
I also look for different shapes and colors. TB and CL are too similar in color.