Freshwater Amphipods

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

andyroo

Freshwater Amphipods

Post by andyroo » Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:35 am

I found a couple (N= 4 or 5) in recent dip-netting, They seem frisky at about 3 or mm long (max).
a) any suggestions of feeding and propagation?
b) any suggestions on feeding to the fish, and getting them down past the angels and tetras to the loaches?

Same question on the small (<3mm) FW clams from the same water.

I'll not be putting anything in the main tank until the weather warms up a little more (and I get a nice population of these things built up). Too much Ich paranoia.
A
"I can eat 50 eggs !"

turtleguy146

Post by turtleguy146 » Sat Feb 13, 2010 9:38 pm

I have recently been compiling materials with the intent to breed daphnia. I have no experience, but I have found this website to be very helpful. (http://www.aquaculturestore.com/info/daphnia.html ) It is actually a very interesting company. I am thinking about some of their darters and maybe some purebred daphnia lol.
With such a small number of organisms it would probably suffice to just drop in a mashed up mysis shrimp and an algae covered leaf.
I have loads of minute freshwater clams. At least as far as the few people i have questioned and I can tell, they are small clams. They couldn't be easier to keep. I started with two that snuck in on a plant from a local river. Now they are plentiful in my tank. I think as long as they are in an established tank they will live and thrive.

palaeodave

Post by palaeodave » Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:46 pm

Got any pictures of the clams?
"Science is a lot like sex. Sometimes something useful comes of it, but that’s not the reason we’re doing it" ー R Feynman

Noto

Post by Noto » Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:03 pm

Hi, sorry for reviving an older thread, but I thought this article I wrote a while back might be helpful: raising scuds.