Am I overfeeding my clown loach??

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Astonj

Am I overfeeding my clown loach??

Post by Astonj » Tue May 04, 2010 1:14 pm

Hey guys, this is my first time here so hello to you all! So I was wondering if i am overfeeding my clown loach. I have 4 and they are all about 2" roughly. I feed them two times a day, roughly 7am and 7pm and feed them either half a hikari algae wafer and some daphnia or a sinking tablet. I ask this because when I look at my clown loach's bellies they seem a bit large and when I look at them side on there bellies seem to poke out a big between the fin at the front and the fin more towards the back on the bottom of the fish. So looking at them side on you can see a little bulge of their stomachs but its not like bulging on the side, I can also see the like silvery lining of what I presume is their stomach however on all my clown loach ive always been able to see this so I think this is normal! So yeah thanks guys :D

Diana

Post by Diana » Wed May 05, 2010 2:02 am

At 2" long they are still very young. I would be feeding them more frequently, or adding a long lasting food for them to nibble on all day.

If overall they look healthy, good color, active, and not too fat they are fine.
Too fat is not a bulge in the belly, that will come and go as the fish eats, then digests the food. This is OK, the fish is not really fat, it is just the mass of the food that makes a bulge.
If the whole fish starts looking fatter, sort as if it was a balloon with too much air, then the fish may be getting too fat.

Clown Loaches should have a slight bulge when you follow a line along their ventral surface from right below the gills to the tail. It should be a smooth curve, not a big bulge. The back has a higher arch.