[Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Post Reply
jdsayed
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:44 am

[Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by jdsayed » Thu Feb 02, 2012 4:17 am

Hi guys,
thought i would share pictures of my tank as i set it up. At the moment I've laid the sand substrate and I've got the drift wood in. Just waiting for my plants to arrive.

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
ClownLoachSharky
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by ClownLoachSharky » Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:27 am

any pics of fish?
Image
You wouldnt have that problem with a V8

jdsayed
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:44 am

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by jdsayed » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:43 pm

ClownLoachSharky wrote:any pics of fish?
Not yet, I need to set the tank up first and make sure it's fully cycled. Once the plants are added it should only take another week or two. I've already started a fish-less cycle, i just need to make sure the plants get a little established before i add the fish. I'll be sure to upload pics though.

starsplitter7
Posts: 5054
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: Tampa, Florida

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by starsplitter7 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:23 pm

Thanks for sharing.

Where are you in the world? I am just nosy.

User avatar
raedeon
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:19 am
Location: Ajax, Ontario

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by raedeon » Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:03 am

Looks nice so far! Do you have plans to add some caves in?
21 Sids :o

jdsayed
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:44 am

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by jdsayed » Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:18 am

starsplitter7 wrote:Thanks for sharing.

Where are you in the world? I am just nosy.
I'll be updating it more as i go! I'm from Australia
raedeon wrote:Looks nice so far! Do you have plans to add some caves in?
It's very hard to see in these pictures, but that wood on the right hand size has the most amazing cave structure in it. there are about 8 or so caves that would be perfect for grown yoyo loachs. The wood cost me alot of money as you could guess lol :D

glenna
Posts: 484
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Sanford, NC

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by glenna » Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:22 am

this is looking good! I really like the pebble/sand substrate. How big is that tank?...and how big is that log? What plants are you thinking about using?
Sorry to hammer you with questions, but I LOVE this part! setting up the tank, making pans for how you want it to look in the end.
My yoyos really seem to love to play in the water flow, so I ended up putting an extra pump flowing along the back wall of the tank.

I will keep my eye on your thread to see how it all turns out.
glenna

jonstfrancis
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:03 am
Location: Near Dartmoor, Devon, UK

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by jonstfrancis » Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:04 pm

I also like your substrate... did you buy it like that? I collected gravels from like 3 different places to make something similar.

jdsayed
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:44 am

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by jdsayed » Thu Feb 09, 2012 4:00 am

glenna wrote:this is looking good! I really like the pebble/sand substrate. How big is that tank?...and how big is that log? What plants are you thinking about using?
Sorry to hammer you with questions, but I LOVE this part! setting up the tank, making pans for how you want it to look in the end.
My yoyos really seem to love to play in the water flow, so I ended up putting an extra pump flowing along the back wall of the tank.

I will keep my eye on your thread to see how it all turns out.
Tank is 4ft long. The log is actually taller then the glass which is 45cm in height. These are the plants i have onn order:

Hygrophila Bunch 4
Thin Vallisneria (Piece Plant) 4
Lace Fern - Small (Piece Plant) 2
Hygrophila Pisces Bunch 2

jonstfrancis wrote:I also like your substrate... did you buy it like that? I collected gravels from like 3 different places to make something similar.
I bought it as is. It's a river sand mix from Bunnings in Australia. It cost me just under $9.oo It's a great mix! Looks even better IRL

User avatar
ClownLoachSharky
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:27 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by ClownLoachSharky » Thu Feb 09, 2012 4:52 am

wish my local bunnings would carry river snad. all they had was play sand so bought pool sand instead
Image
You wouldnt have that problem with a V8

glenna
Posts: 484
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Sanford, NC

Re: [Pics] Setting up Yoyo Biotope

Post by glenna » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:30 pm

yeah, that substrate is really nice.
I do not know what is "lace fern" but it sounds lovely.
Will be looking forward to more pics!
glenna

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests