Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Post Reply
Akwarybka
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:53 am

Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

Post by Akwarybka » Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:33 am

Did anyone tried to use this sand as a substrate for aquarium? I wonder if it would change water parameters...

Diana
Posts: 4675
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:35 am
Location: Near San Franciso

Re: Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

Post by Diana » Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:32 am

With a name like Sharp Sand I sure would not try it. Regular sand is not very sharp, so is generally safe for bottom dwellers and fish with barbels that dig into the substrate. Sharp means to me a more angular material that might injure them.

As for the chemistry, get a handful and try it. (If there is a broken bag....)
38 tanks, 2 ponds over 4000 liters of water to keep clean and fresh.

Happy fish keeping!

Akwarybka
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:53 am

Re: Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

Post by Akwarybka » Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:58 pm

Thanks for reply, I will stay away from it ;)

User avatar
redshark1
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:58 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, England, Great Britain.

Re: Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

Post by redshark1 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:28 pm

I use horticultural grade Silver Sand. My catfish love it. I believe it is inert and also of great benefit is the fact that all the stuff I've bought has been clean straight from the bag.

Pool filter sand seems to be what many people use, but I haven't tried it yet.

I too would be wary of sharp sand. What you need is rounded grains.
6 x Clown Loaches all twenty-six years of age on 01.01.20, largest 11.5", 2f4m, aquarium 6' x 18" x 18" 400 ltr = 110 US gal.

Akwarybka
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:53 am

Re: Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

Post by Akwarybka » Mon Apr 02, 2012 8:30 am

Redshark1, any idea about the size of the grains? I'm looking for something around 1mm. :)

User avatar
redshark1
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:58 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, England, Great Britain.

Re: Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

Post by redshark1 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 3:50 pm

Akwarybka, 1mm is coarse sand.

Silver Sand is fine sand.

Pool Filter sand is coarse sand.

I believe this is the case.

I prefer fine sand. Why do you want coarse sand? It's OK, I'm just wondering.
6 x Clown Loaches all twenty-six years of age on 01.01.20, largest 11.5", 2f4m, aquarium 6' x 18" x 18" 400 ltr = 110 US gal.

Akwarybka
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:53 am

Re: Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

Post by Akwarybka » Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:36 am

Redshark1, my cryps don't root well in too fine substrate, that's why I'm avoiding it. ;)

User avatar
redshark1
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:58 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, England, Great Britain.

Re: Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

Post by redshark1 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 5:12 pm

Ahh! Thanks for the tip!
6 x Clown Loaches all twenty-six years of age on 01.01.20, largest 11.5", 2f4m, aquarium 6' x 18" x 18" 400 ltr = 110 US gal.

Diana
Posts: 4675
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:35 am
Location: Near San Franciso

Re: Homebase Sharp Sand for loaches?

Post by Diana » Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:30 pm

I can find sand graded in any of several sizes at one of the local rock yards. It is in bags, and is labeled with the size mesh that the sand is sifted through. They even call one of the sizes 'Aquarium sand'. (This last is a very coarse sand, perhaps 1/6" or larger... maybe 1/10", it has been a while since I saw it)

Pool filter sand in the local pool supply store is 30 mesh, or about 1 mm. This is fairly fine, not dust though. The sand is a uniform size, so it does not compact, so plants ought to root in it quite well. It is rounded enough for bottom dwellers, and they can dig though it easily.

There is a product that is labeled 'Play sand'. It has dust as well as fine sand. (I would not use this in a sand box for my kids! They would forever be tracking it into the house. Give me something coarse that brushes right off!).
In an aquarium, play sand compacts, and clouds the water all too easily until the microorganisms glue it down. The water does not pass through too well, so it can develop stagnant, anaerobic areas, especially under rocks.
38 tanks, 2 ponds over 4000 liters of water to keep clean and fresh.

Happy fish keeping!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 47 guests