New Loach-a-Holic!

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Angelology

New Loach-a-Holic!

Post by Angelology » Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:07 am

Hi everyone, my name is Amelia and I am from New Zealand.

I have been keeping fish for about 2 years now. I currently have a 5g Betta tank, a 65g Community tank, and a 120g Cichlid tank.

I have liked Loaches ever since my first fish getting into the hobby, Kuhli Loaches! In hindsight they were not a good fish to start with but nevertheless, my group of 8 did very well under my rookie care and are still kicking (or swimming at least) in my friends community tank (I sadly had to sell them when I moved but thankfully I know they are all doing well, and I can have them back if my friend ever decides he doesn't want them anymore).

My second Loaches were 4 Yoyo Loaches which I bought for a community tank. They ended up wreaking havoc and killing many of my community fish, and they put me off loaches for a long time. It took me nearly a year to decide to give loaches another go -- and I added 8 Dwarf Chain Loaches to my community aquarium. They quickly made their way to the top of my favourite fish list. Although they come with a hefty price tag and they are a diminutive size, they have more personality per inch than any fish I've ever owned.

So, I have now decided to try again with Yoyo Loaches and add a group of 6 or 8 to act as dithers and clean up crew in my 5-foot cichlids tank, and also to add a little burst of activity to an otherwise very lethargic tank.

Today I came home with what I THOUGHT were 4 Yoyo Loaches... only to discover that 3 of the "Yoyos" are actually Angelicus Loaches! A disappointing start into my new venture into re-attempting Yoyos but I shall not be deterred -- I will take the imposters back to the LFS tomorrow and request a swap for some actual Yoyo Loaches.

Anyway... nice to meet you all. :)