HELP Clown Loaches not eating

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Summer888

HELP Clown Loaches not eating

Post by Summer888 » Sun Mar 27, 2016 8:21 pm

We are complete beginners with fish and we simply saw 2 clown loaches in the store and bought them along with other fishes for our new 60 gallon tank. They are about 1 and half-2 inches. The first week they were swimming happily up and down, across the tank and now they don't move that much anymore. They use to swim together and now they swim separately. They haven't eaten anything for the past week and we are very worried. Every other fish is doing fine. At first we thought maybe it was because the bigger fish was taking the food but when we blocked them off with a net, the loaches were sitting right by the food and not even trying to eat it. No one was in there way. We tried freeze dried bloodworms, frozen/thawed bloodworms, and shrimp pellets. Nothing has been working and they look very skinny. We called the pet store but they said they couldn't do anything and the best thing we could try was water changes. What should we do?

Diana

Re: HELP Clown Loaches not eating

Post by Diana » Sun Mar 27, 2016 9:20 pm

They are little babies. I would put them in their own smaller tank (perhaps 10 gallons) to treat them and help them grow.
Many bottom feeding fish (Loaches, Catfish, others) can get intestinal parasites very easily. In such small fish as yours the parasites can kill them very quickly.

When I got Loaches that small I treated them for internal parasites and boosted their immune system with Levamisole.

http://www.loaches.com/Members/shari2/l ... chloride-1

You can try tempting them to eat by flavoring their food with garlic.