Creating Kuhlii paradise

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

shari2

Creating Kuhlii paradise

Post by shari2 » Sat Dec 16, 2006 12:48 pm

Hi Brenda,
I moved your thread into a new post so more people may notice.

bevans

New postPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 9:11 am Post subject: Creating Kuhlii paradise

Relative newbie here. How big a footprint do kuhlii loaches need? They don't seem to get as big as some of these other sorts of loaches. I was thinking about getting a 20L tank and planting it with nice sand and wood or rock hidey holes for my kuhliis, but would it even be big enough for say 5-6 of them if there weren't other fish? And is it better to get long tanks for them? I have learned from my other fish tank that I need sand rather than gravel, and this would be my first try at an actual planted tank. Given that they are stream fish, is there some sort of filtration that is better for them than others? Should I get some sort of power head to give the water more movement? How long would you give the tank to establish itself before introducing them? In short, what would you do to make a kuhlii loach paradise?

Mark in Vancouver

Post by Mark in Vancouver » Sat Dec 16, 2006 12:58 pm

I would not keep them in less than a 30 gallon tank, not litres. They need room, and they are highly social with their own kind. They will swim into the water column at times.

I don't think they require extreme filtration, but a powerhead wouldn't hurt. I keep mine in a densely planted tank with lots of wood to hide under and a sandy substrate. P. myersi spend a lot of time combing around for food bits and P. anguillaris burrow frequently.

30 litres is too small, IMO.
Your vantage point determines what you can see.

AwesomeCoolstein

Post by AwesomeCoolstein » Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:05 pm