Do hillstream loaches sift through sand?

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Loachloach

Do hillstream loaches sift through sand?

Post by Loachloach » Sat Mar 10, 2018 3:26 am

I am a newbie hillstream loach keeper. I've had mine only since May 2017.

I bought them for a high flow heavily planted tank with sand bottom with the idea of moving them on to a more suitable set up, which I hope will happen soon enough. They've done well so far in this odd hillstream set up.

In my short experience I've noticed my hillstream loaches doing a lot of sand sifting. Basically they do so at each feeding, making little sand storms as they expel the sand out....I feed small sinking pellets which they love searching for via sand sifting...

I can't find any information on hillstream loaches requiring sand as means of feeding? Can someone shed light on this for me, why are mine such heavy sand sifters? I admit, I have no stones in the tank but I have green algae left growing on the glass, which they love feeding on for the rest of the time. But once I drop food, the sifting starts...They're doing it as good as my corydoras.....

Loachloach

Re: Do hillstream loaches sift through sand?

Post by Loachloach » Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:43 pm

I got a really poor video....sorry, the glass is really dirty/algae covered. I had to shine a light to stop the camera from focusing on the algae spots...

Here's one loach sand sifting at feeding time. When they get to a pellet, they stop sand sifting and start munching, with cheeks fully puffed up, just like a hamster :lol:

https://youtu.be/lV34Sv6g4tk

And one more:

https://youtu.be/Rbom59JpnJ8

Diana

Post by Diana » Sat Mar 10, 2018 11:08 pm

They come from streams that are usually too steep and fast flowing for sand. They are more often working over rocks.
Interesting to see that they can handle the sand and find their food.