Clown Loach advice-not a complete newbie

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

celticchrys

Clown Loach advice-not a complete newbie

Post by celticchrys » Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:12 pm

Hello everyone,
I have two clown loaches that I have had now for about 5 or 6 years. ( began with 3, but one was the victim of a heater malfunction some years ago. The two remaining grew very quickly at first, and have since only grown very slowly. They began in a 29 gallon tank(at the time, I was assured this was large enough by members of the old LOL forum), and have now been in an All-Glass Aquarium 38 gallon tank for several years. This is a planted aquarium with Java Fern, Crypts, and Wisteria. There are also some Cherry Barbs(6) and Rasboras(3).
Clowns being clowns, they hide for much of the day. In an effort to encourage them to come out and play more, I've added more caves to the tank, although the old cave is still "home base." I am contemplating adding blue LED moonlights to the tank so I can see them at night. I have also been pondering adding a third clown, since I know that they feel more secure in groups.
Now, I know that I will eventually have to get a larger tank and it is only a matter of time, but I would ideally need to wait a while to do this, possibly a year or two. Would I be totally crazy to add a third clown loach to this aquarium? If I did, I would consider it full up, with no further residents to be added. It seems that 5 years ago, members of this board would have said yes, and now many would say no.
I've also been trying to introduce new foods, but mine steadfastly refuse to eat anything but Hikari wafers or Tetra tablets. I'd love suggestions to tempt them.
Oh yes! The larger of the two is about 5 inches long, and the smaller is about 3.5 inches long. They are the same age, but one became dominant as they grew.

botiaboy