Clown loach laying eggs

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Jen1782

Clown loach laying eggs

Post by Jen1782 » Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:28 pm

Hi all,
I'm an amateur fish keeper- have had my aquarium 2.5yrs and have two clown loaches plus a variety of other species.
I did a complete water change on Thursday evening and on Friday my female loach started laying eggs! Now I immediately went to the web to find out what to do but found that this is a VERY rare phenomenon. I took a number of pictures and managed to fish a few eggs into a net suspended in the water to keep them safe but unfortunately (awful timing) I had a holiday booked this weekend and came back to find all the eggs had gone (even from the net which the angel fish was consistently nudging) the eggs were too small for a breeding unit and kept falling through the spaces in the bottom. I am very upset I couldn't do anything more but I was totally unprepared. The loaches are still dancing, attached to each other and very pale but she is not producing eggs right now.
I am seeking advice: 1) do I need to buy a mesh hatchery or something to help secure the eggs? 2) how often do they produce eggs when spawning/ how long does it last? 3) is there anything specific I should be doing?
Please don't post a reply if you are going to say it is unlikely or not possible... I am an educated teacher and am aware that unusual behaviour teamed with 20 or so amber globe and tube like forms produced from my loach are likely to be eggs. I also have pictures of the eggs themselves, pictures of the female producing them and a video of an egg I got into the net wriggling to prove it. If someone can show me how to post these I will pop them up for people to see.
Thank you so much in advance for any advice.

redshark1

Re: Clown loach laying eggs

Post by redshark1 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:10 pm