loach tank set up - im new to this

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Post Reply
tical483
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:14 am

loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by tical483 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 7:28 am

I currently have 5 yoyo loaches in my heavily planted 75 gallon community tank. they are all between 1.5"-2" I want to rehouse them sooner rather than later before they get too large. I set up a 55 gallon tank over the weekend that is about half planted at the moment. my question is, should I add 3 more yoyo's for a total of 8 OR should I add 5 clown loaches. I have always wanted clown loaches but I have heard not to mix yoyo's and clowns.

I could also leave the loaches in the 75 and move all other fish in my tank (tetras and corys) to the 55 gallon with sand substrate to give the loaches more room. again, if I leave the yoyo loaches in the 75, can I get more yoyo's or could I stay with 5 and get a school of maybe 5-6 clowns?

*also, worried about the loaches destroying and uprooting plants. the yoyo's dig constantly so I cant imagine any plants staying put in that 55 gallon with sand substrate.

75 gallon, heavily planted, 585GPH filtration (2 canister filters) + 1 sponge filter, seachem fluorite substrate
55 gallon, 500GPH filtration (brand new aquaclear 110) + 1 sponge filter, caribsea sand

all opinions and ideas are welcome.

***I have no idea how to upload pictures to this thread***

Loachloach
Posts: 782
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:11 pm

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by Loachloach » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:50 pm

In fairness, I would not add clown loaches as both your tanks are not suitable long term. Also, I found out that when my clowns got older, they definitely destroyed all plants. They'd generally damage the leaves by biting them but it's enough to put the plants in distress, algae issues resulting from that too.

I'd stick to a larger school of yoyos if it were me. As far as loaches go, the more the better so if you have room for more yoyos, increase the school. They'd be way happier fish.

NancyD
Posts: 1479
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 9:17 pm
Location: SF bay area,US

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by NancyD » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:15 pm

Yeah, I vote more yoyos in a 75g. I've tried to keep clowns in that size tank & it's a short term solution at best. I haven't kept yoyos, but I'd go with 7 or 8 without other loaches.

As LL said, clowns do eat plants. Mine were small-ish (6 + inches). The plant eating was less when I fed veggies like romaine & zucchini. Other loaches may eat (or taste) a few plants, but not like clowns did!
Image

tical483
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:14 am

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by tical483 » Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:11 pm

So I should move all other fish to the 55 and keep ONLY yoyo's in the 75? I would think the 55 with sand substrate would better for a yoyo ONLY tank.

NancyD
Posts: 1479
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 9:17 pm
Location: SF bay area,US

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by NancyD » Sat Apr 13, 2019 9:39 pm

In addition to yoyos you could have some (non-loach or other bottom feeders) tankmates. Maybe denisonii barbs or similar large-ish schoolers. Rainbows? I haven't kept them or yoyos, so I'm just guessing.
Image

tical483
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:14 am

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by tical483 » Sat Apr 13, 2019 9:45 pm

First thing I need to do is figure out which tank to house the yoyo's in before I worry about tank mates. They are currently in the 75 with tetras and corys and there are no issues... but in a couple months when they get to 3"-4", there could be issues.

And with how much they dig, I would have to move all the plants from the 55 to the 75 because I can imagine any plants will stay rooted in sand with those damn yoyo's constantly digging around lol

User avatar
redshark1
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:58 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, England, Great Britain.

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by redshark1 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 3:47 am

In answer to the original question, you need to buy a 150 gallon tank and keep six Clown Loaches with a shoal of dither fish. If Clown Loaches are the fish you want to keep I don't know why you would do anything else.
6 x Clown Loaches all twenty-five years of age on 01.01.19, largest 11.5", 2f4m, aquarium 6' x 18" x 18" 400 ltr = 110 US gal.

tical483
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:14 am

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by tical483 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:33 am

not doing clown loaches. maybe after I move next year.

User avatar
redshark1
Posts: 490
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:58 am
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, England, Great Britain.

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by redshark1 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:22 pm

If its only 1 year wait till then. Simples.

If you're not patient then Clown Loaches are not for you.
6 x Clown Loaches all twenty-five years of age on 01.01.19, largest 11.5", 2f4m, aquarium 6' x 18" x 18" 400 ltr = 110 US gal.

tical483
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:14 am

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by tical483 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:22 am

I think I've decided. I'm going to move the 5 yoyo's to the 55 gallon, remove all the plants and add more bogwood and rocks for hiding places. I think the yoyo's will enjoy the sand substrate and having an entire tank to themselves. I also plan to get 1-3 more yoyo's. Now the hard part... catch them without destroying everything in my 75 lol

Loachloach
Posts: 782
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:11 pm

Re: loach tank set up - im new to this

Post by Loachloach » Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:14 am

I've had some success catching my clown loaches with a jug, cornering and herding them into it. That way they also remain in water and are not as stressed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests