have i made a mistake?

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

tessiann

have i made a mistake?

Post by tessiann » Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:22 am

I am new to fish keeping and have been very lucky to get a 55 gallon tank (239l), after seeing several peoples aquariums I fell in love with loaches, a visit to my local fish seller, I asked his advice because I wanted otocinclus catfish instead of a plecco, but was worried because of how frail they can be ( I didnt want to kill any ) I asked if he had any yoyo loaches or angelicus he steered me towards the sucking loach, I had never heard of one and he assured me it would do well in my community tank, but when I read up about them I am not so sure, do I now have 3 potential trouble makers in my tank? please be nice I am new to this,
My tank is well planted it also has plenty of bog wood and rocks, the fish in the tank are

5 Danios
6 cherry barbs
3 dwarf neon rainbowfish
3 sucking loaches
(and hoping to add some cardinel tetras)

Teresa

redshark1

Re: have i made a mistake?

Post by redshark1 » Sun Jan 12, 2020 2:45 am

Basically yes. https://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/g ... aymonieri/

Your tank is too small, they don't like their own kind, they tend to be aggressive to other fish too (more so as they grow), they get large then they hide most of the time. They often don't get enough food and then will attach to other fish in an attempt to avoid starvation.

On the other hand, although they were stunted, I have seen them in other people's tanks and some people love them.

I think retailers make a lot of money selling unsuitable fish to beginners and it pays to do your research thoroughly before purchase by reading and communicating with fellow keepers of the fish in question.