Clowns and plants.

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Shadowsong

Clowns and plants.

Post by Shadowsong » Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:05 am

Hello, it is my first time posting here, although I’ve been reading both the site and the forums for a few years now.
I have six of those cute little devils known also as clown loaches in a 224litters (160x35x40cm) tank. They are about 5-10cm long right now and have a great time destroying every live plant I put into the aquarium. Unfortunately they don’t mind the algae, that seem to love my tank.
I was told, that nice, thriving plants should stop the algae by consuming all minerals. And to have those I should have a lot of light, about 0,5W/l. Currently I have 2x36W that is 0,32W/l. And here is, where I need advice. Should I add another two fluorescent lamps? How will loaches react to more intense lightening? Will they spend more time in hiding or won’t they mind at all? And will they allow the plants to grow or just treat them as both food and something to vent their excess energy on? I’ve found many different opinions, but I hope other loach lovers will have some experience in the matter.
Thanks in advance for all the answers and sorry for any mistakes I might have made, English is a foreign language to me.

katt

Post by katt » Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:20 am

Welcome Shadowsong..

As for plant`s :lol: CL`s are very good at destroying them just for fun..

If I was you I would try for: Java Moss (Vesicularia dubyana)

Brown Wendtii Crypt (Cryptocoryne wendtii) or the green.

Java Fern (Microsorum pteropus)

There all low light plant`s and the CL`s seem to leve them alone. :wink:

As for light, I believe CL`s like low light better.

Emma Turner

Post by Emma Turner » Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:17 pm

Hi Shadowsong, welcome to LOL. :D