Brown on sword leaves

The place for all discussions not loach-related concerning freshwater fish keeping. All our members keep other fish so you may benefit from their experience.

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Angelfish12

Brown on sword leaves

Post by Angelfish12 » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:43 am

I am new to plants for my aquarium. I got some type of sword plant and about 2 days later a leaf started turning brown. I believe there are 60watts in the 29g aquarium. The heater says 8o. The tank has been up for atleast a year. Why is he plant dieing?

Diana

Post by Diana » Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:09 am

Is it the leaf itself turning brown, or is there brown stuff stuck to the leaf?

Brown stuff stuck to the leaf might be brown algae, Diatoms. You can wipe it off.

The leaves actually turning brown:
This can happen when they are exposed to air. When they are bagged or shipped the humidity in the package should be high enough to prevent this. But if the plant was lying out on a plate or something before you planted it the leaves can start to dry.

Some nutrient deficiencies show up as dark spots in the leaves. Google for images of potassium deficiency. It would be really weird for this to show up in just 2 days, though.

Can you describe more of your set up with respect to the plants?
What sort of light? Flourescent? T-12, T-8 or..
Brand name? (Lots of info about bulbs can be researched on line)
What color wavelengths? Warm white? Cool white? Is there a K number like 6,500K?
What kind of substrate?
Are you adding fertilizer? What sort?
Any source of carbon? CO2? Excel?
38 tanks, 2 ponds over 4000 liters of water to keep clean and fresh.

Happy fish keeping!

NancyD

Post by NancyD » Fri Jun 11, 2010 3:58 pm