Sand Substrate

The place for all discussions not loach-related concerning freshwater fish keeping. All our members keep other fish so you may benefit from their experience.

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Sadielynne

Sand Substrate

Post by Sadielynne » Mon May 13, 2013 6:53 am

I have no experience with a sand substrate, so I am wondering if someone could give me some information on setting up a tank with sand, cleaning i and everything involved!!

Thank you!

Diana

Re: Sand Substrate

Post by Diana » Wed May 15, 2013 12:29 am

There are several sorts of sand.

1) Sold for pool filters. All the granules are the same size (often 30 mesh). This material will not pack down in the tank. PFS (Pool Filter Sand) is a silica. This means it can encourage diatoms when it is first submerged. The material available locally may vary in color a bit, but it is usually light. My local product is off white with some dark specks. Very good material. Since most of the particles are non-dust, it rinses quickly, and can be used straight out of the bag (though there is some dust)

2) Play sand. Often sold in Home Depot and similar stores. This material is often a silica material, but MIGHT be limestone. It has mixed particle sizes, and sometimes is very high in dust. It is not unknown to waste half the bag rinsing it. It can be used in thin layers, but since it packs together so well, it sort of seals off the lower layers, and anaerobic conditions can happen, and the tank become toxic if the sand is too deep. Aquatic plants bring oxygen to the lower layers, so if you can get plants to grow in it, that can help, but there are better plant substrates, so I would not use play sand.

3) Limestone based sand. Decomposed limestone and related materials. These will raise the water hardness and pH. Great for Rift Lake tanks, but not for tanks with soft water fish.

4) Things not normally thought of as sand...