new clown loach, one white spot-please help

This forum is for all health-related questions on Loaches and other freshwater fish.

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

LK

new clown loach, one white spot-please help

Post by LK » Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:48 pm

Hi, I'm very very new at fish-keeping, but learning. I have a 20 gallon tall with 2 juvenile dwarf honey red gouramis (ammonia 0, ph between 7.0 and 7.4). I am planning to upgrade to a 55 gallon early next year. I also have a hospital tank that currently houses an old, old gourami who was getting picked on by the young ones. So, seeing as my hospital tank is unavailable, I did something really dumb--I bought 3 clown loaches for the 20 gal. It was classic bad advice from the pet store guy. Granted the loaches are still very small (about 1.5 inches each), and like I said I will upgrade to a larger tank--now that I have the loaches this will be sooner rather than later. But everyone seems very happy for now. Except--and I know, I should have known this would happen--one loach had a single white spot on its tail fin the next morning after I bought it. I researched online and decided to be proactive. I bought Rid-Ich+, did a 25% water change, and dosed the tank a half dose. The next morning (this morning), there was no white spot. And none of the other fish have any white spots at all, and no one seems to be scratching on anything. But I did another 25% change and dosed again (about 3/4 of a full dose). My question is, how long should I keep up using Rid-Ich+ if the fish remain with no visible signs of ich? I don't like using the chemicals, but so far no one in the tank seems stressed out. Yet, it was just one and only one spot--maybe it was never ich in the first place? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

shari2

Post by shari2 » Fri Nov 16, 2007 2:48 pm