re clown loach health & behaiour

This forum is for all health-related questions on Loaches and other freshwater fish.

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

robinson230

re clown loach health & behaiour

Post by robinson230 » Sun Mar 01, 2009 7:55 pm

Hi guys please if there is somebody who can help & advice me. I have a 100 ltr tank, with external rena filter, which I'm told filters the tank water around 13 times per hour, I also have a air stone. I'm new to the fish world only having tank 2 1/2 months. I currently have 2 black moor & 6 fancy fish, that are still quite small, due to a room temp of 68f-70f I decided to get 2 clown loach their about 4cms & use the heater that came with filter. All was going great 4 days ago I noticed 4 white spot on loach, knowing what it was I ran & I mean to the pet shop to get a treatment, used it same day following instructions & will do 2nd dose 2day. The white on loach as gone & no other fish wher affected, I also upped the temp as I believe it helps kill the cycle quicker, turned the light off & turned airstone up to max. How ever my loachs keep graying out, the place I got them told me its cause there young, my put being they go dark 2 light, dark 2 light, he was useless. Why do they do this they are moving round, eating, & have places 2 hide, but there hiding more, I don't know what to do, before the white spot I was changind 25% water using gravel cleaner x2 week, checking water week, all is well with that. Please can someone advise me what could be wrong? Or is this typical 4 them. Please I'm so stress about it thanks.
Fish c r a z y!

tender

Post by tender » Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:57 pm

Hi!
It`s usually called "greying out". It`s quite normal. They often do this in various situations. Exitement, fights, etc. Nothing to worry about, I would say :)

starsplitter7

Re: re clown loach health & behaiour

Post by starsplitter7 » Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:11 pm