Ich and unidentified tiny organisms

This forum is for all health-related questions on Loaches and other freshwater fish.

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

LoachNovice

Ich and unidentified tiny organisms

Post by LoachNovice » Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:18 am

Hello,

I am really new to loaches and am having some issues with Ich and possibly something else--I hope someone can help. Here's the background:

I have a 25 gallon tank that has been set up for two months. At first I just put in live plants and decor bought at Petsmart. After a week I added a clown loach. The sales person at Petsmart told me that one clown loach would be fine in 25 gallon tank. That loach is about 1.5 inches and was fine for a month. Then I read that clowns really need to be kept in groups (and that they get to be huge!--an issue I'll have to deal with down the road.) At any rate, I felt bad for my lonely loach and bought him a friend. About a week after adding the second clown loach I noticed Ich spots on the second clown (he/she is slightly smaller that the first loach so I can tell them apart.) I started treating the tank with Kordon Ich Attach and have been following the instructions on the bottle. I have been treating for a week. I also raised the temp in the tank from 78 to 84, but this is hard to maintain as my house is cold and drafty in the winter. (I even put a blanket around the tank!) I also have been doing water changes and gravel vacuuming, but then decided to move then fish to a 5 gallon "hospital tank" since a smaller tank would be easier for me to vacuum and do water changes--I'm small with some back problems and can't carry a lot of buckets of water around all day.