LFS injured Gastromyzon sp.

This forum is for all health-related questions on Loaches and other freshwater fish.

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

joclru

LFS injured Gastromyzon sp.

Post by joclru » Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:27 am

Unfortunately, I haven't been able to snap a picture so you'll have to go by my description. After a long time preparing, I bought 2 "borneo hillstream loaches" from my local fish shop a few days ago. I have since learned that one seems to be Gastromyzon ctenocephalus and the other G. scitulus, though I'm far from expert in this area. I'm planning to perhaps add some more, but with fish that I have no experience with I sometimes like to buy just 2 or 3 to minimize the damage should there be something woefully wrong with my setup.

The LFS employee really struggled to get them out of the tank. It took at least 5 minutes and, for the second of the two, the involvement of the shop owner to get them out. It wasn't that they couldn't be tracked down...they just couldn't get the fish off of the glass. There was a lot of use of fingers involved, which as a general rule concerns me with fish handling though maybe I'm overprotective. It even looked like the employee at least was trying to use his fingernails to get underneath the loach, but I can't be 100% sure since it was hard to see. They were transferred to a specimen container to be bagged afterwards. As it turns out, it took another ~5 minutes to get them from the specimen container to the bag while I waited at the front.