Help....white patches, not ich, on Clowns

This forum is for all health-related questions on Loaches and other freshwater fish.

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

PaulaH

Help....white patches, not ich, on Clowns

Post by PaulaH » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:11 pm

Hey guys,

A total newbie here, but a clown loach aficionado for many years. In about the last year some of my loaches have popped up with this weird kind of white patch stuff over their backs and sides. It seems to just be on their slime coat... Not itchy...and it comes and goes in a week or two time. We have not added a new fish to the tank in 2+ years...

110 gallon acrylic tank...using well water, which is quite pure....no change in food for literally years...just find them all one day like this. This is not causing a die off...they just look ugly for a week or two. Wondering if the rocks in the aquarium are kind of sharp and they are skinning themselves up going in and out of the caves...

Any ideas?

Thanks! Paula

PS....two of the “affected” loaches are fairly large...like 6”...could it be the rock “caves” might be too small and the big guys are scraping themselves

Diana

Re: Help....white patches, not ich, on Clowns

Post by Diana » Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:07 pm

Have a look at a disease with many names, but caused by one organism.
The organism is Flavobacterium columnare
Alternate names include Flex, Flexibacter (old name), Saddle Disease, Columnaris.
On fish medication packaging it might be called some kind of fungus. It is not.

In a large tank the best way to deal with it is medicated food. Use the recipe found here at Loaches, and incorporate a medicine such as Kanamycin. Let me see if I can find some links...

Home made frozen food. Make a batch, then divide it into however much to which you want to add medicine.
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=16732

How to add Kanamycin (Seachem Kana-Plex) to food. Dosing, other additives.
http://www.seachem.com/kanaplex.php