Powerhead & Clown Loaches.

The forum for the very best information on loaches of all types. Come learn from our membership's vast experience!

Moderator: LoachForumModerators

Post Reply
Roo
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:54 pm

Powerhead & Clown Loaches.

Post by Roo » Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:00 pm

Hi

I was wondering if you guys use a powerhead for additional current in your Clown Loach set ups.

I would very much like to get one but was wondering if they should be left on all the time or if you can adjust the speed of them. Should they point to the bottom of the tank? I have intake stalks for 2 cannister filters at both ends of the tank if that is pertinent.

Would anyone be kind enough to recommend a brand/model?

It will be for a 480L tank that has 3 6" adult Clowns with more planned.

Thank you for reading.

EmilyMarie85
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:22 pm
Location: Boise, ID USA

Re: Powerhead & Clown Loaches.

Post by EmilyMarie85 » Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:45 pm

I use these for main water movement:

http://www.fosterandsmithaquatics.com/p ... atid=21971

I use the 750 in my 125g, and I just bought a 1400 for my new 210g. I do leave them on all the time -- but when I feed cucumber or krill, I always have to clean them because the food gets stuck in the grill part, which is kind of annoying. They do not have a speed adjustment. I point them downish/middle of tank

Roo
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: Powerhead & Clown Loaches.

Post by Roo » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:39 pm

Thanks for that. That looks a perfect size for the tank & I will place it low down so it doesn't affect the Angels.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests